Hesitation problems

Real time World War II combat simulation
Post Reply
Azzarc
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 7:13 am
Contact:

Hesitation problems

Post by Azzarc » Sun Jun 25, 2006 7:16 am

I played the demo a few times. I just bought the lastest version and there seams to be bad hesitations during the game. Sometimes until it is not playable.

TheKangaroo
Posts: 492
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 11:07 pm
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post by TheKangaroo » Sun Jun 25, 2006 1:07 pm

What exactly do you mean by hesitations? Your troops hesitating to do anything? Or the game not going fluently?

User avatar
Sean OConnor
Posts: 1299
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 7:47 am
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Post by Sean OConnor » Sun Jun 25, 2006 7:12 pm

It's probably because of the new timing routines I use. I think on slower computers when Windows struggles for a bit to keep up it seems to throw in the towel completely and the timer goes wrong.

Could you try pressing the 'T' key and let me know what time roughly the four 'stages' (0 to 3) are taking. They ought to be completed in under 20ms each for the game to run well.

Azzarc
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 7:13 am
Contact:

Post by Azzarc » Sun Jun 25, 2006 8:09 pm

Next time it hesitates I will hit T. I do not know what you consider slow, but I have an AMD Athlon 64 3000+ with 512meg RAM.

When the game hesitates, there is a delay when selecting units, the game seams to continue going, you just cannot control your units in a timely manner. Eventually it gets to where you cannot select anything.

Azzarc
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 7:13 am
Contact:

Post by Azzarc » Sun Jun 25, 2006 11:48 pm

Ok here are some numbers when it is hesitating, but still playable.

Step 0 20-30
Step 1 45-68
Step 2 6-16
Step 3 0-6

When Step 2 goes around 70-110, it becomes not really fun anymore. I can go get a drink or something during that time.

Azzarc
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 7:13 am
Contact:

Post by Azzarc » Mon Jun 26, 2006 12:16 am

Oops, that last line was Step 1. Should be "When Step 1 goes around 70-110, it becomes not really fun anymore. I can go get a drink or something during that time."

User avatar
Sean OConnor
Posts: 1299
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 7:47 am
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Post by Sean OConnor » Mon Jun 26, 2006 2:12 pm

With those high timings it looks like your graphics card is struggling to keep up. Could you try turning down from 32 bit graphics to either 24 or 16 bit? This can have a dramatic effect on speed as some graphics card drivers are not optimised to run at 32 bit colour and can run dreadfully slowly. You could also check to see if there has been an update to your video driver too.

Azzarc
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 7:13 am
Contact:

Post by Azzarc » Mon Jun 26, 2006 5:13 pm

I think it is fixed. I have an older GeForce 2 400MX card and was using the built in Windows driver. I downloaded and installed the Nvidia driver and now the Step 1 numbers are a LOT lower.

Thanks for the help.
Greg

User avatar
Sean OConnor
Posts: 1299
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 7:47 am
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Post by Sean OConnor » Mon Jun 26, 2006 7:10 pm

Thanks for letting me know that Greg. I really appreciate it as I have been worried that the new timing routines could cause problems for some computers.

Post Reply