Page 1 of 1

Data Editing Problems

Posted: Sat Jul 29, 2006 8:35 am
by thekaiz
When I go to edit the data for a tank or infantry unit to make it available in different years than it really was, it doesn't work. Anyone know what i need to do?

(for instance, if i change the dutch tank to be available in the XLS file in 1937 or 1945 and I go to play the game, the change doesn't work and I'm still now allowed to use that tank in those years).

Posted: Sat Jul 29, 2006 9:32 am
by Sean OConnor
The .xls file is just a summary of the real data which is stored in .txt files within the Firefight\Data folders. Change things in those .txt files and it will have an effect on the game.

BTW if you are fixing errors in any of my data please let me know so I can modify the files here too.

Posted: Sat Jul 29, 2006 3:26 pm
by thekaiz
Thanks I'll try this. By the way I want to get version 4.0 and I was wondering how I can prove I have an earlier version (I don't seem to have a confirmation email, must have deleted it).

Posted: Sat Jul 29, 2006 3:29 pm
by thekaiz
Also was wondering something, I don't see a dutch cardon-loyd in the tanks folders. How does it appear in the game then?

And is there anyway to add more countries?

Posted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 7:50 am
by Sean OConnor
thekaiz wrote:Thanks I'll try this. By the way I want to get version 4.0 and I was wondering how I can prove I have an earlier version (I don't seem to have a confirmation email, must have deleted it).


Just send me an email and I'll check if your email address is in the database.

Posted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 7:51 am
by Sean OConnor
thekaiz wrote:Also was wondering something, I don't see a dutch cardon-loyd in the tanks folders. How does it appear in the game then?

And is there anyway to add more countries?


It's probably just because the .xls file is slightly out of date.

If you do a whole set of data for a new nationality you can email it to me and I'll build it into the game. Let me know what you're working on just in case someone else is doing it!

Posted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 11:01 am
by Andy
is thats where the help files are generated from? a few times ive wanted to see what armour his tank has against my firepower, to see if i can have a chance of taking it out, only to find that half the 'newer' tanks arent there, and the newly added countries likewise
________
easyvape vaporizer

Posted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 9:03 am
by thekaiz
Sean O'Connor wrote: If you do a whole set of data for a new nationality you can email it to me and I'll build it into the game. Let me know what you're working on just in case someone else is doing it!


Nah, I'm just making all units avialable from 1937 to 1945 for every country because my acquaintances and I are starting a leauge.