Page 2 of 2

Posted: Tue Jul 28, 2009 11:09 pm
by Tomahawk
Sean,

I may have spoken too soon. MOST of the graphics look fine now, but my armor is almost invisible. The screenshot below should show two tanks and a halftrack. Instead, it shows two floating turrets (and an invisible halftrack).

-Tomahawk

Image

Posted: Wed Jul 29, 2009 5:09 pm
by Legacy
Tomahawk wrote:
Sean O'Connor wrote:Looks like some of the graphics files have got corrupted maybe? I'd recommend a fresh install to see if that solves the problem. If not let me know.
Sean,

I've discovered the problem. I had installed the game to a directory different from the default one ("C:\games\Firefight"). When I uninstalled, then reinstalled to the default directory ("C:\Program Files\Firefight"), all the graphical issues disappeared. You may want to change the code be more flexible about the location of the graphics files.

Thanks,
Tomahawk
Must have been a quirk with your install; mine's installed in a different folder and works fine.

Posted: Wed Jul 29, 2009 9:32 pm
by Tomahawk
Sean,

I think I have found the issue. I uninstalled, and used "regedit" to remove any references to Firefight, so that everything was "clean." I reinstalled to C:\games\Firefight. Everything looks fine. I tried starting multiple campaigns and multiple single games - everything still looked fine. However, when I moved the Firefight program group in the Start menu from "All Programs" to a within my "Games" program group, that's when the graphical issues happend as documented before. Do you have a suggestion, or will I just have to live with Firefight being in the "All Programs" menu?

Thanks,
Tomahawk

Posted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 2:30 pm
by Tomahawk
Tomahawk wrote:Sean,

I think I have found the issue. I uninstalled, and used "regedit" to remove any references to Firefight, so that everything was "clean." I reinstalled to C:\games\Firefight. Everything looks fine. I tried starting multiple campaigns and multiple single games - everything still looked fine. However, when I moved the Firefight program group in the Start menu from "All Programs" to a within my "Games" program group, that's when the graphical issues happend as documented before. Do you have a suggestion, or will I just have to live with Firefight being in the "All Programs" menu?

Thanks,
Tomahawk
Yup, that's definitely it. I can now create and correct the graphics issues at will just by moving the Firefight program group around in the Start menu.

Posted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 7:50 pm
by Legacy
What operating system are you using?

Posted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 2:34 am
by Tomahawk
Legacy wrote:What operating system are you using?
Windows XP, SP3

Posted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 6:11 pm
by TheKangaroo
A rather sketchy workaround that might help you is the following:
Make another shortcut to the game manually, put that where you want it (Games folder or something). Then leave the original shortcut where it is but hide it.

Posted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 2:51 pm
by Legacy
TheKangaroo wrote:A rather sketchy workaround that might help you is the following:
Make another shortcut to the game manually, put that where you want it (Games folder or something). Then leave the original shortcut where it is but hide it.
Or make a shortcut to the shortcut.

Or a shortcut to the folder containing the game, then manually launch it from the folder.

Posted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 2:17 pm
by Tomahawk
I manually made a shortcut to "Firefight.exe" in my "All Programs/Games" program group, and it works well. The only graphic that doesn't seem to work correctly is the "ruined building" one.

Posted: Tue Apr 20, 2010 1:02 pm
by Sean OConnor
Very strange bug this! My guess is that some of the graphics aren't being loaded by Windows as there are just so many. Hopefully when I release 4.2 this will be solved for your computer as I've made it more efficient by only loading the graphics that it needs at that moment.

Posted: Wed Apr 21, 2010 2:53 pm
by Tomahawk
Sean O'Connor wrote:Very strange bug this! My guess is that some of the graphics aren't being loaded by Windows as there are just so many. Hopefully when I release 4.2 this will be solved for your computer as I've made it more efficient by only loading the graphics that it needs at that moment.
Sean,

I had to do a re-install of Windows (for reasons unrelated to Firefight), and since then the graphics have worked fine.