Copyright: Who is right - or some questions for beginners...

Lead your people to safety before Atlantis disintegrates

Copyright: Who is right - or some questions for beginners...

Post by 007 » Sat Nov 19, 2005 5:04 pm

Sorry for my bad english, I hope you will understand me . . . As a journalist I know most facts about the "writing rules and laws". But nevertheless I have some problems with the copyright laws at software. So here simple questions:

There are more than 100 software titles for the boardgames chess, go or backgammon. No one can stop you if you are going to write another chess, go or backgammon game and sell it . . . and yes, you can call it "xxx chess"!

On the other hand: Do not even think about making a Monopoly game and call it Monopoly. Even if the game is only "very near by the rulesset" of Monopoly, you are getting post from Hasbro . . .

And what if I make a football computergame, like table soccer. Can you also make such a game or not (I know there are several out there). Can you call it table soccer too? If not, what do you have to change? Handball instead of football?

Last case: If I design a boardgame (no software) - can you make a software out of it? What do you have to change - where is the difference to Go or Chess?

So, where is the difference and what kind of case is that here? Any ideas and minds are welcome . . .

Greetings, Sascha

Quitch

Post by Quitch » Sat Nov 19, 2005 8:22 pm

You're getting copyright and trademark confused. You can't used the name Monopoly because the named is trademarked.

Post by 007 » Sat Nov 19, 2005 8:30 pm

Quitch wrote:You're getting copyright and trademark confused. You can't used the name Monopoly because the named is trademarked.

If it is so simple, where is here the Problem? Why was changed the theme (space instead of isle) and not the name?

Quitch

Post by Quitch » Sat Nov 19, 2005 8:59 pm