Game freezing from move 7 onwards

Lead your people to safety before Atlantis disintegrates
Post Reply
cydream
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 1:19 pm

Game freezing from move 7 onwards

Post by cydream » Tue Jun 20, 2006 1:24 pm

Hi,

Just bought the full package, mainly for my favourite Slay, and now am addicted to Atlantis. However I have a problem, as every time the game gets past turn 7, when the computer moves, it freezes - mostly for about 30 seconds each time the computer moves, but sometimes enought for windows to bring up the "this program is not responding" message. Any ideas why it might be happening, how I can fix it?

Sorry for the new topic if this query is already covered, I checked the board and couldn't find it.

User avatar
Sean OConnor
Posts: 1299
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 7:47 am
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Post by Sean OConnor » Tue Jun 20, 2006 2:15 pm

I've not been able to repeat that problem here. Have you changed any of the default rule options? Could you try quitting the game when it starts to go slow and then email me the file SavedGame.dat that will be in the Atlantis folder?

cydream
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 1:19 pm

Post by cydream » Tue Jun 20, 2006 2:30 pm

Hi,

Yes I've changed a few options, so all the detail I can think of:

Theme = space
Computer speed = fast (i've tried it on other speeds, same problem)

In rules the options I have active are:

Start of game:
Random Island
Random initial men placement
More than one man on light grey hexagons

End game:
When no men are left

Game play:
Kings and princes are hidden
Astronauts can return to planet
Creatures can teleport

I'll email you the file right now - I just played it again, this time it froze on turn 9, so I exited at that point.

Thanks for your help!

User avatar
Sean OConnor
Posts: 1299
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 7:47 am
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Post by Sean OConnor » Tue Jun 20, 2006 4:10 pm

I continued from the SavedGame.dat file you sent but I didn't find any problems. When the computer players have 4 moves to make with a monster there was a pause of a few seconds but nothing like 30 seconds. Is that the part of the game where your game has problems?

Could you let me know what processor your computer has? I have a 3Ghz Pentium 4 - is yours significantly slower than that?

cydream
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 1:19 pm

Post by cydream » Tue Jun 20, 2006 4:54 pm

Hi,

My processor is about half that speed - i have an Athlon XP 1800+ running at 1.53 ghz, additional info, I'm running Windows XP with 768 mb ram.

It is particulary when the computer makes a long move with the monsters yes, but more often for at least 30 seconds - I don't have a problem in the early part of the game, but the pauses get longer from turn 7 onwards. Most times I can wait the pause out and continue, but every few games the pause is long enough for windows to decide the program isn't responding and then it gets closed down.

User avatar
Sean OConnor
Posts: 1299
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 7:47 am
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Post by Sean OConnor » Wed Jun 21, 2006 6:45 pm

My guess is that when there are several of one sort of monster on the screen and a player is given 4 moves of that monster the AI takes too long on your computer as there are so many combinations of moves that could be made. You can make things easier on your computer by selecting the "only a single creature can be moved" rule option. I think I'll make that the default now if this causes problems on older computers.

cydream
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 1:19 pm

Post by cydream » Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:19 pm

Thanks,

I've just tried that option for a couple of games and it definatly seems better - no freezing or pausing that I was aware of.

Funny, I don't think of my pc as older (although the majority of it is at least 3 years old now I guess), as once the processor got beyond 1 ghz it seemed equipped for anything - but now suddenly it seems the poor thing is past it!

User avatar
Sean OConnor
Posts: 1299
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 7:47 am
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Post by Sean OConnor » Tue Dec 12, 2006 11:05 am

cydream wrote:Funny, I don't think of my pc as older (although the majority of it is at least 3 years old now I guess), as once the processor got beyond 1 ghz it seemed equipped for anything - but now suddenly it seems the poor thing is past it!


I use a recursive routine to examine every possiblity of every move the computer can make. When there are a few monsters and any of them can move part or all of the 4 moves there are a vast number of combinations that can be made. I'll look into optimising this a bit in the next version though.

Post Reply