I'm making a game

Anything to do with programming games...
Garnier

I'm making a game

Post by Garnier » Fri May 06, 2011 2:53 am

I've been making games since I was very young, board games then. Now I've been programming for a few years and am making computer games as a hobby. Sean was one of the hobbyist game makers whom I was inspired by and now I've got something to share.

I started a new project last week, and it's the type that might interest the folks on here. After all I was one of the "folks on here" some time back and it interests me! The website is www.org.philipmcg.com. It's a free download.

It's a real time strategy game where you explore and settle a randomly generated island or group of islands. It supports live multiplayer, and we've had up to 5 players in game at once. It can get quite competitive building roads all over the place and grabbing up the resources. :)

Some of my other projects:

www.pac.philipmcg.com (Turn based strategy game)
www.sow.philipmcg.com (Hard to describe civil war thing)
Last edited by Garnier on Wed Aug 03, 2011 1:37 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Sean OConnor

Post by Sean OConnor » Fri May 06, 2011 10:50 am

Looks good! What's it written in? How did you do the networking?

Garnier

Post by Garnier » Sat May 07, 2011 12:54 pm

It's written in C#. I use SlimDX for rendering, it's a wrapper on DX9. For networking, I use the .NET TcpClient class, which is a wrapper on Socket.

I first made a client/server system that is based on frames (network frames not rendering). So the clients send messages to the server, and the server sends them out to all clients attaching a frame number for it to be executed on. Then the server at regular intervals sends an endframe message at which point all the clients execute all messages that arrived for the frame being ended.

So the networking code doesn't know anything about the game, all it does is pass messages.