Map question

Conquer the island
Post Reply
rich12545
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:14 pm

Map question

Post by rich12545 » Sun Nov 28, 2004 10:19 pm

When playing a map is there any way to randomize which color you start as?

Also, the blurb in the demo said something about 10,000 maps and I see only about 500.

collier
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 7:02 pm
Location: Boulder, Colorado

Post by collier » Mon Nov 29, 2004 1:25 am

Rich,

You wrote:

> When playing a map is there any way to randomize which color you start as?

No, not in the current version. I think this feature was removed a while
back.

> Also, the blurb in the demo said something about 10,000 maps and I see only about 500.

Go to File / New friendly game, and you will see a place near the upper
left corner of the screen where you can enter a number to select which
pre-defined map you want to play or load a map file (many of which are
available to download from this and other web sites).

File / Map editor will enable you to create your own maps.

Regards,
Mark

rich12545
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:14 pm

Post by rich12545 » Mon Nov 29, 2004 5:29 pm

OK, thanks, I see how this works now. Just started playing yesterday. It's really a very nice game.

For Sean, is there a way for it to open in a full screen window?

collier
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 7:02 pm
Location: Boulder, Colorado

Post by collier » Mon Nov 29, 2004 6:37 pm

Rich,

I've asked Sean about the full-screen window thing before. He said there
is no way to do it in the current version, but he also said it was something he would consider adding in the future. (I think he added the full-screen
capability to "The General" and wanted to see how that worked out before he made the same change to "Slay".)

Regards,
Mark

rich12545
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:14 pm

Post by rich12545 » Mon Nov 29, 2004 6:50 pm

OK. It's not so tiny that's it's unplayable but it would be nice on Slay and Conquest. Maybe we'll see it in the future. :?

User avatar
sharon
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 9:48 pm
Location: leicester, uk
Contact:

Post by sharon » Sun Jan 02, 2005 9:43 am

It would be nice to be able to make it full screen but......

I think it has to be only an option in the slay menu as like me alot of people will like to shrink it while they do something else then return to the game later..

I know you can do this with alt/tab but it can be messy that way :(
will my pc ever be fast enough?

rich12545
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:14 pm

Post by rich12545 » Sun Jan 02, 2005 4:31 pm

When it goes full the playing area stays the same. I'd like it very much if Slay and Conquest were set up to stretch a bit like the general.

collier
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 7:02 pm
Location: Boulder, Colorado

Post by collier » Mon Jan 03, 2005 10:26 pm

Sharon,

sharon wrote:It would be nice to be able to make it full screen but......

I think it has to be only an option in the slay menu as like me alot of people will like to shrink it while they do something else then return to the game later..

I know you can do this with alt/tab but it can be messy that way :(


The idea is to make Slay function like most Windows programs in the sense that you would be able to stretch the Slay window or use the
Maximize button near the upper right corner of the Window. In those
cases, the graphics would "expand" when the Slay window is expanded.

If you try the Maximize button now, you'll see that it moves Slay to the
upper left corner of your screen, but does not increase the size of the
graphics.

If Slay were maximized, that would not be a problem for running other
programs because you could minimize Slay by clicking on the Minimize
button or click on your task bar to bring another program to the
foreground.

Regards,
Mark

User avatar
MortVader
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by MortVader » Mon Jan 03, 2005 10:48 pm

Another way to handle maximizing (which I would prefer, actually - maybe just as an option to stretching the graphics) would be simply to add more water on all 4 sides of the island.
I know that sounds silly somehow, but I tend to maximize the program I am currently working with in many situations. I like that.. kinda like the same way i close the door when i want to take a shit without getting disturbed ;D

User avatar
qwas
Posts: 350
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2005 6:00 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Post by qwas » Sat Apr 16, 2005 5:49 pm

collier wrote:Sharon,

sharon wrote:It would be nice to be able to make it full screen but......

I think it has to be only an option in the slay menu as like me alot of people will like to shrink it while they do something else then return to the game later..

I know you can do this with alt/tab but it can be messy that way :(


The idea is to make Slay function like most Windows programs in the sense that you would be able to stretch the Slay window or use the
Maximize button near the upper right corner of the Window. In those
cases, the graphics would "expand" when the Slay window is expanded.

If you try the Maximize button now, you'll see that it moves Slay to the
upper left corner of your screen, but does not increase the size of the
graphics.

If Slay were maximized, that would not be a problem for running other
programs because you could minimize Slay by clicking on the Minimize
button or click on your task bar to bring another program to the
foreground.

Regards,
Mark


But on full screen when you do it the taskbar re-loads, desktop reloads etc...
Proud member of Seans forum since 14th April 2005. 1 year and still counting.
Now to spam those 30 messages to get into 3rd place in post count. :D

I'd like to buy your soul please.
http://www.mindistortion.net/iwantyours ... lex_Rider2

collier
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 7:02 pm
Location: Boulder, Colorado

Post by collier » Sun Apr 24, 2005 7:32 pm

I don't understand what you are saying....

Regards,
Mark Collier

User avatar
qwas
Posts: 350
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2005 6:00 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Post by qwas » Mon Apr 25, 2005 6:03 am

FULL-SCREEN, nothing at the top saying Minimize etc... NO Slay at the top, have you ever played a game other than Sean's games?
Proud member of Seans forum since 14th April 2005. 1 year and still counting.
Now to spam those 30 messages to get into 3rd place in post count. :D

I'd like to buy your soul please.
http://www.mindistortion.net/iwantyours ... lex_Rider2

collier
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 7:02 pm
Location: Boulder, Colorado

Post by collier » Wed May 11, 2005 11:39 pm

I see your point.

To me, though, the difference in size is negligible between "true" full-screen mode and a full-screen mode where the task bar, window border, and maximize and minimize buttons are visible, so why bother supporting
it (especially when many users wouldn't know how to get back to their desktops)?

Regards,
Mark
[/quote]

User avatar
qwas
Posts: 350
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2005 6:00 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Post by qwas » Thu May 12, 2005 5:12 pm

alt/tab

You cracked it (or maybe not), I am NOT supporting this idea, I am against full-screen but not Miximized and Graphic Stretch (it's so clever, you don't see it really long yet it it bigger, an illusion?)
Proud member of Seans forum since 14th April 2005. 1 year and still counting.
Now to spam those 30 messages to get into 3rd place in post count. :D

I'd like to buy your soul please.
http://www.mindistortion.net/iwantyours ... lex_Rider2

Post Reply