Castles?

Conquer the island
Post Reply
rich12545
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:14 pm

Castles?

Post by rich12545 » Wed Dec 01, 2004 5:28 pm

How do castles work? Are they more powerful than any men? If so, how do you destroy an enemy castle since they cost nothing per turn?

User avatar
Sean OConnor
Posts: 1299
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 7:47 am
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Post by Sean OConnor » Wed Dec 01, 2004 10:52 pm

Castles protect themselves and the hexagons around them at the same strength as a spearman - so you need a knight or baron to capture a hexagon next to them or to knock down the castle itself.

Milan
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 12:36 pm

Castles

Post by Milan » Mon Dec 13, 2004 12:40 pm

Well, castles ARE maybe too strong, since they sost nothing after you build them. Only they cant attack.
The biggest advantege is that they are the only one left alive if your soldiers "die from hunger".

The biggest disadvantege is that they become too weak when knights come.

Quitch
Posts: 297
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 8:56 am

Post by Quitch » Fri Dec 17, 2004 11:15 pm

Their biggest weakness is that they don't move.

User avatar
Fighter_Ace
Posts: 409
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2004 4:36 am
Location: Sacramento, CA, United States of America - Also can be found somewhere in the land of 1's and 0's
Contact:

Post by Fighter_Ace » Tue Jan 11, 2005 3:26 am

It would be kinda cool if castles could attack within a small range.
My thanks and best regards to all my former submitters.

birdman187
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 3:21 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by birdman187 » Mon Feb 27, 2006 3:26 am

castles are the most worthless piece in slay
I kill those softy fools. Long live the NWO

Dave W
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 4:05 pm

Post by Dave W » Mon Feb 27, 2006 10:19 pm

birdman187 wrote:castles are the most worthless piece in slay


Castles rule!

They're not all that useful against the AI since the
AI is so dumb. Against humans they're essential for
survival in the midgame, until the provinces are big
and the knights come out. Even after that it is
still an effective trench warfare tactic to build
a castle forest. (I do think that castles should
cost $1/turn, though.)

User avatar
gruff
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 12:44 am
Location: New York State
Contact:

Post by gruff » Tue Feb 28, 2006 3:49 am

Some countertactic to beat the castle forest needs to be developed.

User avatar
BoxZone_Author
Posts: 331
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 7:46 pm
Location: UK (back from USA)
Contact:

Post by BoxZone_Author » Wed Mar 01, 2006 1:00 am

There has been.

Build your own castle forest to block the enemy castle forest.
Or use peasants with one space to stop the forests expanding.

Post Reply