Page 1 of 1

Router AND Server problems...

Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 8:16 pm
by jrbentley
Well, I finally found out how to open a port on my router and did that.

It still doesn't work. I still get the error message saying data needs to be passed through to my computer on port 4873, in order for others to be able to connect to my game in a network game.

I WAS able to connect to the main server and play a game. I'm assuming this is against "bots"...I never saw where I was playing against a human.

My question is, when I connected to the server and it started a game, I was not given any chance to configure the game, or to pick what level I wanted to play at or against. Is this not possible?

Thanks for all help,
jrbentley

Posted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 9:56 am
by Sean OConnor
That's not an error message - it's just a warning to remind people that when they want to set up a server they need to forward on port 4873 to their computer if they are behind a router.

But, if you connect to the "Permanent server" or any other server on the list you don't need to make any changes to your router.

Posted: Thu Apr 17, 2008 1:24 pm
by jrbentley
Thanks Sean, I appreciate your help!

Is there any update on the status of a new Slay?

I don't know if this is the right place to ask, but have you ever considered adding water elements to the game, like boats upgradeable to ships, or maybe a random hurricane every once in a while?

Posted: Thu Apr 17, 2008 3:08 pm
by Sean OConnor
I don't plan to change any of the rules - I think that might upset too many people who are used to the way things are now.