[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 488: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4762: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3897)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4764: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3897)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4765: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3897)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4766: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3897)
Sean O'Connor's Games • View topic - Computer can erase barons?
Page 1 of 2

Computer can erase barons?

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2010 2:31 pm
by panicboy

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 1:08 pm
by amateur
I've seen the situation where I cut off a baron and the hut spawns on his hexagon, vanishing him. I've also seen knights disappear without noticing whether it was due to a hut or not - everything moves around, after all.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 1:57 am
by edbrannin

PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2010 12:04 am
by ben
I have seen barons vanish also. It looks like the CPU knows how to retire men.. I would like that skill also.. :D

PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2010 1:43 pm
by Legacy
Never seen that happen, and I've played a LOT of games with AI. What does tend to happen sometimes, is a baron gets caught in a small bubble of a cut, and the AI loses it without losing many other men.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 4:53 pm
by Sean OConnor
When a territory gets cut in half the game needs to create a new village in the newly created territory. It tries to put it on an open space, but if none are available it tries on a grave, then a tree, then a castle and then finally on a man. It also tries to put it in a central position in the territory.

Are you using a version before 5.0? The algorithm was slightly different then (it tried to put new villages in the furthest top left open position)

There's no (intentional) code for the computer to try and lose one of it's Barons though!

PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2010 10:26 pm
by yogshog
As someone who has written programs and had people complain about problems that literally could not happen, I hesitate to say this. However, (unless I missed something big) in the game I just lost (on the version for the ipad) the AI had 2 barons in the same territory and I didn't cut his territory at all, but the next turn (with me almost eliminated) he only had one baron.

Also, it doesn't say in the rules anywhere - when territories are joined, is there any heuristic for figuring out ahead of time which HQ will be kept?

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 8:47 pm
by the space predator

PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2010 7:27 pm
by Legacy
It's the HQ with the largest territory, or the most income(not necessarily the same), not sure which.

PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2010 7:19 am
by Fusion_power

Erasing units

PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2010 9:08 pm
by Re-Peat

Re: Erasing units

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2011 9:20 pm
by Spacehulk

Erasing Barons

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 4:19 pm
by Gaspode
I can "bank" all players except the baron. But I have seen incidents where the PC has not been starved but the baron has been removed from play.
I have also seen a number of "can't happen" situations where from the first move a warrior has appeared from a 4 hexagon island and done one further move before being starved. Something which I have been unable to myself. I suspect this is a bug, but such things as Barons being removed from play do seem to happen.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 7:35 am
by Fusion_power
One of those weird strategy effects in Slay is that the AI will sometimes deliberately put a man in a position to starve with the apparent intent of forcing trees to multiply in an opponent's territory. This behavior is part of the base program for the game.

DarJones

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 10:28 pm
by Ber
I have observed the same thing as Re-Peat and panicboy, except it my case it was with a knight.

It was on iPhone version, map Ette (5th row, 2nd column), hard. There is a narrow single hex wide, two hex long bridge between the central/left island and the right peninsulas. I had control of the entire main island, and light brown had control of the right peninsula. The AI offered to surrender one turn before I had completely dominated my area. I declined, so brown brought their knight up to the right side of the narrow bridge. In my next turn I finished taking the mainland then moved my knight to my side of the bridge, toe-to-toe with their knight.

On their next turn, their knight simply disappeared. There were no trees, the computer had one territory, other men did not disappear, there was no tombstones, and their territory had not shrunk a single hex in the last turn.

On the plus side it broke the stalemate before I even had to get a baron, but it sure looks like a bug to me!

Sean - I hope I have provided enough detail for it to be reproducible for you!