Slay doesn't work on Dell Axim!?!

Conquer the island
rocky_larsen
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 10:07 pm

Slay doesn't work on Dell Axim!?!

Post by rocky_larsen » Fri Jan 28, 2005 10:10 pm

Is there a way to get the new version of Slay so it works correctly on PocketPC 2003 2nd edition? I've emailed Sean twice, but no reply...

Help!

User avatar
Sean OConnor
Posts: 1299
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 7:47 am
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Post by Sean OConnor » Sat Jan 29, 2005 8:08 am

I replied to all three emails that you sent me (on the 9th, 20th and 22nd Dec) but it looks like they've been vanishing somewhere in transit. Could you make sure they are not being blocked by an over zealous spam filter and that your return email address is set correctly in Outlook?

snarfo
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 2:38 am
Contact:

Post by snarfo » Thu Mar 17, 2005 2:44 am

I just got a Dell Axim x50v and Slay works on it--- with the only caveat being that it draws the display very slowly. Screen refreshes are sluggish and scrolling is a chore. It was silky-smooth on my old iPAQ 5400 series PocketPC, but not so zippy on the new 624 mhz Axim. I'm guessing it must be a combination of the new 3d graphics chip and the video being stretched to fit the vga resolution?

Anyhow, since Slay is the one game I'd want with me if I were to be stuck on a desert island (or here in eastern Iowa, which is about as desolate :-)), is there any way to give it a speed boost?

Actually, Sean, how about a native VGA version? That would be SO cool.

User avatar
Sean OConnor
Posts: 1299
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 7:47 am
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Post by Sean OConnor » Thu Mar 17, 2005 7:38 am

I think the only way I'm going to be able to test out a VGA version and solve this speed issue is to actually go out and buy one of these new Axims. Better start saving my pennies...

snarfo
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 2:38 am
Contact:

Post by snarfo » Thu Mar 17, 2005 1:04 pm

I bet if we all skip the green beer binge today and donate the cash to you instead you'd easily clear the 500 bucks :wink:

Honestly though, the Axim's VGA display is really amazing. Once you see one first-hand you'll never go back to QVGA. Sadly, Dell isn't exactly giving them away, but we got a tremendous deal for an educational discount (I work for a school district): a bit over 600 bucks for the 624 mhz x50v, a Rhino case, a spare stylus 3-pack, and a 512 MB sd card. By comparison, the district paid almost an even thousand dollars for my iPAQ with peripherals a couple years ago. Crazy.

I may have a new job offer this summer which would get me about a $20,000.00 raise. If I get it I'll buy you an x50v, okay? :)

mmtbb
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2004 3:52 am

Post by mmtbb » Fri Apr 22, 2005 4:26 am

Did you ever get the axim? I have been dying with the slowness on mine on my Axim v50x.

User avatar
Sean OConnor
Posts: 1299
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 7:47 am
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Post by Sean OConnor » Fri Apr 22, 2005 7:47 am

Do other games work more slowly on Pocket PC VGA screens or is it just PocketSlay?

snarfo
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 2:38 am
Contact:

Post by snarfo » Fri Apr 22, 2005 7:07 pm

Yesterday Dell released a new ROM update (a03) for the x50v PocketPCs, which included a video driver update. I thought I'd do the ROM upgrade and see if it helped.

Well, it doesn't make a difference--- I ran Slay, General, Conquest, and Rats. All of them exhibit the same slow screen redrawing/refreshing.

I also checked the cpu speed control in the x50v's control panel, which indicated it was running at its full 624 mhz.

roddie
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 1:08 am

Post by roddie » Mon Apr 25, 2005 10:43 am

Sean,

I'm also having the same slowdowns with my Axim X50v, which I didn't have on my old Axim X3i. Just for note, I think this is specific to the VGA PPCs, not just Axims.

The authors of Championship Spades/Hearts/Euchre etc. at http://www.dq.com recently released a new version of their games to address this problem (I think!), so maybe they might have some ideas?

Roddie

mmtbb
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2004 3:52 am

Post by mmtbb » Tue Apr 26, 2005 3:55 am

There actually needs to be changes in the program to make it work with the Axim x50v

User avatar
Sean OConnor
Posts: 1299
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 7:47 am
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Post by Sean OConnor » Tue Apr 26, 2005 7:16 am

mmtbb wrote:There actually needs to be changes in the program to make it work with the Axim x50v


Yes, I think you are right there, but my problem is finding out exactly what I need to do!

It's very annoying when they change things so programs break...

mmtbb
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2004 3:52 am

Post by mmtbb » Tue Apr 26, 2005 2:04 pm

isn't PocketSlay mainly GDI based?

User avatar
Sean OConnor
Posts: 1299
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 7:47 am
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Post by Sean OConnor » Tue Apr 26, 2005 4:05 pm

mmtbb wrote:isn't PocketSlay mainly GDI based?


Yes, I only use GDI calls. Just: CreateCompatibleDC(), SelectObject(), BitBlt()

mmtbb
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2004 3:52 am

Post by mmtbb » Wed Apr 27, 2005 3:28 am

From what I understand, the Axim x50v's processor is completely geared to GAPI and GDI will run but is very slow. Intel released a statement about the 2700g. Screaming speed if optimized for GAPI, snail if completely GDI.

nma
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 01, 2005 8:42 pm

Post by nma » Sun May 01, 2005 8:54 pm

Need to make the application hi-dpi aware. If you make it aware using a hack then it works fine, but runs in low-dpi (small section of screen)

http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/defau ... reness.asp

after that, you just need to make the game bigger to fit the screen =) I dunno how you coded it so i can't tell ya how to do it easy. Game i did i just checked what the screen was and stretched the blt's to the right size once and then draw em all over when i need to.

Post Reply