Page 1 of 1

Slay for android Bug

Posted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 8:23 pm
by dhex
- On Droid 2 Global, sound effects loop endlessy making the game unplayable with sounds.
- State not saved.. when in a game, if you return to the home screen for any reason, when you open it back, the current game is gone

Re: Slay for android Bug

Posted: Tue Sep 11, 2012 12:28 pm
by Crayfish
Just in case Sean isn't reading these forums regularly I'd suggest also sending this bug report directly to him using the "email the developer" option on the Google Play store. I've sent a bug report by that email route and have got an immediate response.

Re: Slay for android Bug

Posted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 8:42 pm
by android_developer
Hi dhex,

I am sorry you are experiencing issues with Android Slay.

In order to help me try diagnose and fix your issue, can you tell me

1. Which Version of Android you are running on your device?
2. How much free space you have available on your device internally?
Go to: Settings | Storage to do this.

Does turning the sound off from the settings screen in Slay solve your issue for you in the short term, while I try and figure out what is going on?

Thanks

Adrian

Re: Slay for android Bug

Posted: Sat Nov 10, 2012 12:02 am
by KDM
I've been a fan of Slay for I'm sure about 8 years. I've bought the PC version, the palm version and now the Android version.

I'm in a similar boat. I'm not sure the sound in working properly - when I drop a man, I just get a sort of click noise. More worrying, though, is that my progress for any given island is not being stored. If my phone screen saves, or if I exit the program, when I re-run it, the island I was working on appears brighter than the others (presumably that means it's in progress), but I'm back to the start of the scenario.

For info, if I use Task Manager, sometimes, I can pick up where I left off.

Hopefully these are just little teency teething troubles!!

I'm running Android 2.2 on the ZTE Blade (AKA San Francisco).

Re: Slay for android Bug

Posted: Sun Nov 25, 2012 11:00 am
by KDM
Just realised that OP didn't answer question from android_developer. Hope this is useful:

android_developer wrote:In order to help me try diagnose and fix your issue, can you tell me
1. Which Version of Android you are running on your device?
2. How much free space you have available on your device internally?


1) 2.2
2) 41.5Mb internal and about 7 Gb on SD (why DO they make the internal memory so pointlessly small and then load it up with useless drivel?)

Re: Slay for android Bug

Posted: Mon Nov 26, 2012 9:52 pm
by KDM
I do know that a lot of work is going on in the background with these games and the guys are working really hard to get the Android version sorted out.

Following on, then, I thought it useful to document that if I hit "home" and then come back to the game, it does appear to remember where it left off. It only appears to forget when it times out and screen-locks itself.

Re: Slay for android Bug

Posted: Tue Nov 27, 2012 11:16 am
by android_developer
Thanks for your feedback.

I will look at the going to sleep issue for the next release.

I am also working on some performance Improvements.

Re: Slay for android Bug

Posted: Wed Jan 02, 2013 12:00 am
by KDM
For info, I got a Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 for Christmas. No, I'm not boasting. It's just that I installed Slay and it works perfectly. It saves status as expected, runs a lot more smoothly and the sound effects (almost) work. They seem cut short, or abruptly started or something. it's hard to describe.

Anyway, the point is whatever issues the developers are having are probably features of Android 2.2 which are "fixed" in Android 4.

Re: Slay for android Bug

Posted: Sun Jan 06, 2013 11:32 am
by KDM
***Update***

Retract "perfectly." (Sort of.)

A few times this week, the problem has arisen only if the machine screen saves / locks while I have an island open. It screensaves, when I unlock it again, the island is closed, but something strange happens that I can't quite pinpoint. Sometimes, it looks like it goes back one or more turns. Sometimes, it looks like it has just ended my turn without me hitting "End Turn."

It's hard to debug when I find myself doing really well on an island and I don't want to goof it up, but I decided to do this right this morning. I've been trying hard to break it, but I CAN'T! No matter what I try, I just can't make it fail today.

The only one niggle I can find is that when the devices becomes locked, the status display (top right) for the currently selected cluster disappears. It's no biggie, because it comes back if I deselect then reselect the cluster.

Could this have fixed itself when I upgraded from Ice-Cream Sandwich 4.0.1 to Jelly Bean 4.2 yesterday?

Re: Slay for android Bug

Posted: Sun May 05, 2013 1:37 pm
by KDM
This still happens on my 10.1" Galaxy Tab 2 in Android 4.1.1.

I play maybe one island per day and sometimes (just sometimes, maybe once a week) I get a black screen followed by "Unfortunatly Slay has stopped."

When it happens, it's not predictable. It ALWAYS coincides with a screen rotate. Certain times of certain days, if the screen rotates, Slay crashes.

The only thing I can think of the might be common to these occurrences is that they might only happen when the WiFi is switched off, but I can't see how that's relevant.

Hope this helps.

Re: Slay for android Bug

Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2013 8:15 am
by PatWilliams
Recently I had read in online news that a group of security analysts have distinguished a four-year-old Android bug that can permit pernicious Trojans to show up as checked applications, tainting units with malware while clients remain uninformed of its presence.They claims the bug has existed since Android 1.6 Donut, and that it influences 99 percent of gadgets which utilize the Os.

Thanks
snoring-mouth-piece.com