Page 1 of 1

Is Slay MP *really* MP?

Posted: Wed Sep 22, 2004 8:23 pm
by rscott
I just purchased Slay for Windows but have only been able to play with me and one other person. I find that a bit disappointing... I had intentions to play with a bunch of my other buddies who also have the game but so far I've been unable to do so. Is there a trick to getting more than one person in the game at the same time? My copy has "human" players set to 1 but it's disabled and "grayed out" so I can't make changes.

Thanks-

RS

Posted: Wed Sep 22, 2004 8:36 pm
by Fusion_power
There is a passcode that you should have received that enables network play.

When you start a game, you should be connected to the network and click start network game. One of the players must set up as a server. If you can't figure out how to do this, send me an email and I'll work you through it.

You can reach me via the page at http://www.selectedplants.com/slay.htm.

Fusion

Show me a white man who can sit still for an hour in the wilderness and see/hear everything while thinking nothing.

Posted: Wed Sep 22, 2004 8:44 pm
by rscott
I've actually done all that. I entered my network code when it prompted, then I got a message saying that network play was enabled. After I start the server I actually see that the human player number is grayed out and hard coded to 1.... I can't seem to change it.

Posted: Wed Sep 22, 2004 11:31 pm
by Fusion_power
Sounds like you are starting a challenge game. All challenge games are by definition one human against the computer.

If you want to play against others, you can start a friendly game or a network game. You can play the same islands as in challenge games but you will be able to have more human players. Friendly games would be played by players who were all in the same room and on just the one computer. Network games are played on computers in different locations with one computer acting as the slay server.

Fusion

When you are all wet, you might as well take a bath.

Posted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 6:30 am
by Sean OConnor
rscott wrote:I've actually done all that. I entered my network code when it prompted, then I got a message saying that network play was enabled. After I start the server I actually see that the human player number is grayed out and hard coded to 1.... I can't seem to change it.
The number of humans is greyed out in a network game as you don't have control over how many humans are going to connect to your server. Maybe I should remove the greyed human drop down completely in a network game as it's just not applicable.

Just click on the OK button and you'll see that your name is listed in the next dialog box that pops up. As other players connect to your server their names will start to appear in the list. When you are happy with the number of people who have connected, click on the Begin button and the game will start.