Page 1 of 1

feature requests

Posted: Sat Oct 02, 2004 3:13 am
by Goblinarcher
i think it would be nice if the next version had an option to change the number of territorys captured required to get a card (example: need to capture 3 or more territorys to get a card instead of one). also, a option to set a unit cap (example: a territory can only have a maximum of 12 armys on it) i belive these are both rules in newer versions of risk, but i am only taking my freinds word on this. either way they are good rules.

Posted: Sat Oct 02, 2004 4:17 am
by Goblinarcher
i just thought of something else that would be helpful. on some maps huge armys can overlap and in some cases cover the terratory so you cand even tell who owns it. this is fixed by turning off the army grafix but its not as cool. instead it would be nice to right clik on a terrotory (or watever works for you) to tell the player how many armys are on it.

and why did you (sean) not use cavelry and cannons to represent armys like in the board game? (in older versions of risk ive seen they are just diffrent plastic shapes)

features

Posted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 1:56 am
by sid6.7
more terr. for cards is a good idea so is army limit
the army limit i can say is real in normal risk when
you want to make the game harder....

using cavalry and cannons may have been too close
to a copyright issue... i dont know though.

good feature

Posted: Fri Oct 22, 2004 11:05 pm
by blah
how about a good rewrite on your random number generator. Time and time again, I go against a computer with 2-3 times the number of guys and for a territory and loose all and he looses 1. something is fishy with your random numbers... also, initial placement on the map should be a bit more random. I shouldn't be able to restart a game and always have the same spot on the map...

lets start to think before we put this stuff out.

Posted: Fri Nov 19, 2004 11:43 pm
by RuM
My suggestion, would be to see a central game server to connect to, so you can see other player's who are hosting games or host a game yourself in real-time. This is the way one of the competitor Risk clones has set theirs up. It works well.
Also, some more information included with Conquest regarding ports that need to be open on a gateway router in order to play on the internet would be most welcome.

Thanks.

Re: good feature

Posted: Mon Nov 22, 2004 9:56 am
by Sean OConnor
blah wrote:how about a good rewrite on your random number generator. Time and time again, I go against a computer with 2-3 times the number of guys and for a territory and loose all and he looses 1. something is fishy with your random numbers... also, initial placement on the map should be a bit more random. I shouldn't be able to restart a game and always have the same spot on the map...

lets start to think before we put this stuff out.
The dice rolls are completely random. I use the Windows function rand(). It doesn't ever give the computer better dice rolls or you worse dice rolls. It would be trivially easy for me to make the computer cheat but I don't. I even added a "history of dice rolls" dialog box to show that the rolls on average were just as good and bad for you and the computer.

Posted: Fri Dec 31, 2004 3:48 am
by JonManning
Transparent GIF support would be a great addition to the game. It would allow much cleaner maps without the jagged lines, smaller file sizes, and eliminate halos on maps which are not anti-aliased.

I don't know what it would take to code this, but the image quality would be immensly improved with this addition.

Two ideas I have that might help make it work (though I don't know programming, so the ideas are rough):
- Make the territory map a separate layer (without transparency) from the rest of the graphics. Overlay the borders and other graphics that are not relevant to the game engine (with transparency enabled for this layer) on top of an aliased black and white territory map the the program already recognizes.
- Recode the game engine to recognize an alpha mask for finding territories, much as it already does now using white. Coding to make the borders define anywhere more than 75% of the transparency is lost should still allow for clean lines without noticeable halos.