Game Errors

Command a squadron of spaceships
Post Reply
HOAB
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 5:17 am

Game Errors

Post by HOAB » Fri Feb 06, 2009 5:31 am

I am getting a heap of game errors with the full version. Symptomes are:
Cannot load a save game
Cannot keep retired commanders

Following error messages come up:
"Cannot Read Register" (At start up and close of game and when commander killed)
"The File 'Role of honor. dat' appears to be copied from an earlier version so it will need to be deleted" (At start up of game).

Could somebody please provide a solution to these errors.

User avatar
Sean OConnor
Posts: 1299
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 7:47 am
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Post by Sean OConnor » Sat Feb 07, 2009 11:28 am

Are you running the game from a device that cannot be saved to? Like a CD for example?

HOAB
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 5:17 am

Post by HOAB » Sun Feb 08, 2009 1:19 pm

No. Using my local drive. Have got the full version of all the games and all other games save no problems at all.

TheKangaroo
Posts: 492
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 11:07 pm
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post by TheKangaroo » Sun Feb 08, 2009 2:45 pm

What is your system? If you are using Windows Vista and installed the games in your Program Files folder the infamous User Account Control might generally dislike any file operations.

flap
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 3:19 pm

Post by flap » Wed Apr 21, 2010 5:49 pm

A bit of post necro

On my computer (XP) this error is caused when I start the program without being an administrator.

the space predator
Posts: 442
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:09 pm
Location: Montr?al

Post by the space predator » Wed Apr 21, 2010 10:25 pm

strange
I need to write something, so i create that signature.

TheKangaroo
Posts: 492
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 11:07 pm
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Post by TheKangaroo » Wed Apr 21, 2010 10:38 pm

Indeed, WinXP usually is rather easy on those things. Are you by any chance sharing the computer (with everyone having his or her own account)? I could imagine that triggering an error like that, but as long as you can run it as administrator and that solves the problem I believe you rather shouldn't take to desperate measures to change the situation.

flap
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 3:19 pm

Post by flap » Thu Apr 22, 2010 11:47 am

Yes, there are different accounts. Basically I have one admin, for all the important stuff, and 2 others that I use for all day work. (Aftrer having been attacked by a virus, I avoid to work being an admin).

User avatar
Legacy
Posts: 664
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 4:34 pm
Location: Wellsboro, PA, USA
Contact:

Post by Legacy » Sat Apr 24, 2010 2:14 pm

Critical Mass uses the registry to help keep the RoH honest. Probably the problem.
"Every man is my superior in that I may learn from him."

Don't take life too seriously, you won't make it out alive!

flap
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 3:19 pm

Post by flap » Sat Apr 24, 2010 2:22 pm

I don't know well how registry works with admin rights. But maybe Critical Mass is trying to create a new key, while writing only in an existing one would be allowed for non admins. Or maybe the key is created/edited in a reserved place.

Well, for my part I know how to get around the problem (right, and I start the game as admin). But as the question was raised a while ago, and that it might give a good reason to Sean to come back to the game... :wink:

Post Reply