Page 1 of 1

maximum map size for Mother of all Battles?

Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 10:08 am
by w0qj
1. What is the maximum map size for Mother of all Battles?

I want it to be as big as possible, say 1000x1000.

2. BTW, anyone know what were the max map size for EMPIRE?

Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 10:37 am
by Sean OConnor
It's 80 x 80

There's no reason why I couldn't make the maps go bigger but I thought it would make the game unmanageable

Posted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 3:56 am
by rich12545
Greetings. With the new Empire Deluxe you can have huge maps. But if you play against the computer ai, getting my SoloMod is a must if you want a decent game. Personally I like smaller maps or you're spending weeks just exploring and expanding.

Posted: Tue Sep 26, 2006 6:54 am
by stedlar
I would very much like bigger maps. The 80 x 80 plays out to quick. 1000 x 1000 would take forever just to explore, little lone conquer. And if you could make it with not much land, then you would have to build very large invasion fleets that have to travel a long way to actually engage the enemy.

Imagine finding a color that you had not engaged in battle because it was remote and it had spent a few hundred days just building it forces.

This would all be very neat.

Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 10:57 am
by Sean OConnor
OK, I'll do bigger maps in the next version.

Posted: Thu Dec 21, 2006 5:41 pm
by sid6.7
cool....


sean....250 x 250 is pertty big if your map wraps i found with ED
that unless your crazy(like me) 400 x 400 is unplayable for what
most people want..it just takes too long and AI's are easy to run around..

yep ED is cool...i played a HUGE map last year it took me 10 months
to finish it... :shock:

that was like playing it 1 hour every other day or so...

Posted: Thu Dec 21, 2006 5:49 pm
by Sean OConnor
How many opponents did you play against at those big map sizes? I'd have thought it could take ages to even find the enemy if there were just 5 of them!

Posted: Thu Dec 21, 2006 5:57 pm
by sid6.7
i used 10....:)

Posted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 10:50 pm
by ChubbyJJFong
Hi Sean (and everybody)

The cool thing about MOAB is that you can auto play. With a huge map you could concentrate on the critical areas and auto play the rest. In fact when I start to win by a centimeter on the chart, I just auto play and touch up the crunch areas when needed!

Posted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 11:13 pm
by the space predator
I think that whit the gameplay of MOAB, 150x150 is the max we can, but by the way, have map whit more variation in can be good, some huge continent, and some little island, also, have one or two type or terrain (forest or swamp) can be very fun

Posted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 6:30 pm
by Sean OConnor
Yes, the map generation routine isn't very good and could do with an overhaul to make some more interesting islands.