Future plans for PocketPC version?

A boardgame of world domination
Post Reply
Julian
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:55 am

Future plans for PocketPC version?

Post by Julian » Fri Feb 08, 2008 12:05 pm

What (if any) are the future plans for the Pocket PC (PPC) version of Conquest? The version history shows that the PC version appears to be under active development but the PPC version shows no updates since v2.0 in July 2004.

Are there any plans to ever release a PPC update? I see a few posts here about crashes and the game refusing to play its next turn plus one request for assistance in installing on a Windows Mobile 6 device that seemed to go unanswered (maybe it was answered offline?) but it does make me worry that I could be spending $20 on a product that is effectively no longer supported.

- Julian

User avatar
Sean OConnor
Posts: 1299
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 7:47 am
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Post by Sean OConnor » Fri Feb 15, 2008 4:31 pm

I'll try and keep PocketConquest working on the latest Windows Mobile versions but there aren't many more features I can think of adding!

Julian
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:55 am

Post by Julian » Tue Feb 19, 2008 2:09 pm

Sean O'Connor wrote:I'll try and keep PocketConquest working on the latest Windows Mobile versions but there aren't many more features I can think of adding!


Fair enough. Thanks for the reply. I'll go and download the trial then and, assuming it's as good as it looks, I think you've just got my money.

Does this mean though that you never had to change anything since July 2004 to support all the new WM vesions? If so then that's impressive backward compatibility by Microsoft and/or intelligent use of APIs by you!

Regardless of the above, could I make a humble marketing suggestion? The fact that your last change shown in the version history is in July 2004 might (a) be wrong, or (b) mislead a few people (like me) to think that you don't bother to track new WM versions. I'd suggest that you either update the change log to show any compatibility changes or, if there weren't any, then at least create a 2.0.1 or something with the only feature being something like "Re-tested for compatibility with WM 5/6/6.1".

- Julian

rjenk
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 7:36 pm

Post by rjenk » Thu Feb 28, 2008 7:41 pm

Just upgraded to a iPAQ 210 and both Conquest and The General runs very slow. Anything that I can do to address the issue?

Also, don't know if it is a bug or by design but when you capture the last territory of an opponent and you do not select to use all armies (roll 1, 2, or 3), when you do capture the territory it does not give you the option of how many armies to move, it moves them all as if you used All instead of 1, 2, or 3.

Thanks for a couple of great games.

zohaer21
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 5:36 pm

Post by zohaer21 » Mon Apr 14, 2008 8:49 pm

hi
i hope you havent boiught the game yet ~~~
i bought this game back in 2005 and since then have used many vga devices and requested mr sean the great for a version compatible with vga devices since 3 yrs now.. and guess what ??? nothing!!!

User avatar
Sean OConnor
Posts: 1299
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 7:47 am
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Post by Sean OConnor » Fri Apr 18, 2008 8:43 am

Sorry about no VGA version yet but I really just haven't had enough spare time to work on this yet.

Post Reply