firewal et al

A boardgame of world domination

firewal et al

Postby ruddles » Sun Nov 16, 2008 5:31 pm

ok,
I try to play a network game after registering the product.

Get the message.. you need to open 4875, behind a router etc etc..
set windows firewall (XP) to allow this.. no connect ?

where do I go from here please ?

Joe

Ruddles
ruddles
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 5:28 pm

Postby TheKangaroo » Sun Nov 16, 2008 7:42 pm

Are you using a firewall and/or a router? If so, which model? Maybe someone has the same type and can tell you what exactly to do. Opening the port has to be done in the setup of your firewall software or in your router settings, Conquest itself has nothing to do with it.
TheKangaroo
 
Posts: 492
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 11:07 pm
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Postby ruddles » Mon Nov 17, 2008 9:43 am

Thanks for the reply,
I am using a wifi link from my boat, The windows firewall is not the culprit, even tried with it off >!
Obviously there is a wifi router that I connect to, but I cannot see why they would block one port, I have no problem with anything else at all.
Obviously this is not something I can just sort out as I dont own the router ?.
Joe.
ruddles
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 5:28 pm

your providor is blocking it

Postby P00PDOG » Mon Nov 17, 2008 4:32 pm

Your providor has a firewall and is blocking it. most of the time home users have a router (linksys,netgear ect..) and you have to do port forwarding to your computer. did you try to completely turn off the windows firewall? also if you have some kind of security siute a lot of times the security app takes over and even if the windows firewall is turned off the firewall is still up.
P00PDOG
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 10:04 pm


Return to Conquest

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests