Slay interface improvements

Conquer the island
Post Reply
User avatar
MikeD
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 4:47 pm

Slay interface improvements

Post by MikeD » Wed Feb 09, 2005 5:07 pm

First, GREAT GAME!

Ok, (minor) suggestion: the process of clicking on a territory to see the available funds, then moving the cursor over to the side to select a man/castle and dragging it to the territory seems a bit cumbersome. Would be great if simply moving the cursor over a territory would automatically highlight that territory and list available funds (to the side). Then, with the cursor still over the highlighted territory? if a player wanted to buy a man/castle, they would simply have to click in an open space in that territory (or adjacent, available space to their territory) and the man or castle would be placed in that spot. Left-click for a man, right-click for a castle. All done without moving the cursor to the side. Also, to create spearmen, knights and barons, the player would simply just left-click on top of an existing man (similar to the way double-clicking on the side is now). A bonus to the proposed method is that it eliminates an error in the game where a (small) territory has the funds to buy a man, yet there is no space. As it works now, the game will let you buy the man, but then you are stuck with a man endlessly floating, with no place to go. Only option then is to restart or end the game. If you had to click in an available space to buy a man, this error could be eliminated.

Again, awesome game! I?m buying a second copy to support network play.

User avatar
Fusion_power
Posts: 323
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 2:34 pm
Contact:

Post by Fusion_power » Wed Feb 09, 2005 7:08 pm

MikeD,

Your description of a "floating man" sounds like you have missed something. Try clicking on a man then hit backspace and see what happens.

There is some potential to your suggestion of improving the play action. I'll let Sean tackle that one though.

Fusion

User avatar
Styro
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 6:15 pm
Location: UT, USA

Post by Styro » Wed Feb 09, 2005 8:10 pm

Are you aware that you can right-click to buy men? Twice for spearman, etc? The only time I ever have to click on the right hand panel is to buy castles.

Excellent tip about the backspace, fusion_power. I have often gotten into that situation and couldn't figure a way out of it. Usually I have a blank space and can place the man or castle and then undo. Just last night, though, I bought a castle with no open spaces and had to reload from a saved game because I didn't know the backspace trick. :(
If I may say so, life is a game, and there's so much to do and so few turns.
- Reiner Knizia

User avatar
MikeD
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 4:47 pm

Oops!

Post by MikeD » Wed Feb 09, 2005 10:11 pm

Yep, right-click & backspace... those work! :idea: ! Thanks for the tip!

Post Reply