Transfer the record of games played

Conquer the island
Post Reply
sliabh
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 10:07 pm

Transfer the record of games played

Post by sliabh » Tue Dec 15, 2009 10:10 pm

I am geting a new laptop shortly, and as I haven't played all the islands I would like to tranfer the record of the islands (and difficulty) to the new machine when I reinstall Slay. Does anyone know how to do this?

User avatar
Legacy
Posts: 664
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 4:34 pm
Location: Wellsboro, PA, USA
Contact:

Post by Legacy » Wed Dec 16, 2009 6:55 pm

Install Slay onto your new laptop(an email to Sean will get you access to the installer if you need it), and copy your slay.dat over to your new system.
"Every man is my superior in that I may learn from him."

Don't take life too seriously, you won't make it out alive!

sliabh
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 10:07 pm

Post by sliabh » Wed Dec 16, 2009 9:56 pm

Legacy wrote:Install Slay onto your new laptop(an email to Sean will get you access to the installer if you need it), and copy your slay.dat over to your new system.


Thanks for that. My only problem now is that a search of the whole drive doesn't turn up a slay.dat. Where should it be?

the space predator
Posts: 442
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:09 pm
Location: Montr?al

Post by the space predator » Wed Dec 16, 2009 11:06 pm

in c:/program files/sean o'connor games/slay
or in c:/program files/slay
I need to write something, so i create that signature.

sliabh
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 10:07 pm

Post by sliabh » Wed Dec 16, 2009 11:27 pm

the space predator wrote:in c:/program files/sean o'connor games/slay
or in c:/program files/slay

I have a c:/program files/sean o'connor games/slay/ directory, however there is no slay.dat in it. As well as some .wav files and three sub folders (Languages, Themes, and Maps) the only two other files are slay.exe and slay.chm.

I am running Vista and have "Show Hidden files" turned on, so it it was there I am sure I would see the file. As I said I did a search of the whole C drive for slay.dat and Window's didn't find it (the disk isn't partitioned).

User avatar
Legacy
Posts: 664
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2005 4:34 pm
Location: Wellsboro, PA, USA
Contact:

Post by Legacy » Thu Dec 17, 2009 3:47 pm

From what I understand, Vista hides some configuration files in some kind of "virtual store."

I don't know firsthand, the only experience I've had with Vista was removing it from systems and replace it with XP.
"Every man is my superior in that I may learn from him."

Don't take life too seriously, you won't make it out alive!

User avatar
Sean OConnor
Posts: 1299
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 7:47 am
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Post by Sean OConnor » Thu Jan 14, 2010 6:19 pm

A few versions ago I changed the name of the file you need to:

HighScores.dat

Legacy is right about Vista. It used to be OK for a program to write data files to the folder it's in but Vista decided that was a security risk so it writes them to a user folder. Try searching your hard disk for "HighScores.dat" though and it should turn up.

sliabh
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 10:07 pm

Post by sliabh » Thu Jan 14, 2010 7:24 pm

Unfortunately I handed back the old machine last week so I lost the track. Ah well.

I will know the next time, and now I have an excuse to go back and play all of the islands again...

Post Reply