Maybe this is a solution Sean

Conquer the island
Post Reply
rich12545
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:14 pm

Maybe this is a solution Sean

Post by rich12545 » Sun Dec 12, 2004 7:27 pm

As you know I'd like to play Slay (and Conquest when I get around to it) in 1024x768 and Firefight in a res one notch higher. The rest don't matter. Well S & C are already set up to stretch, just not very far. How difficult would it be to allow them to stretch a bit further? Wait, is this the solution you used with the general? If so, it shouldn't be too hard?

User avatar
Sean OConnor
Posts: 1299
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 7:47 am
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Post by Sean OConnor » Tue Dec 14, 2004 9:56 am

You can make the window bigger in Slay and Conquest but only up to the size of the map. It doesn't stretch the graphics like in The General. If you made the window any bigger you would just see blank space around the playing area.

Firefight would run much more slowly if I did a stretch as it's a real-time game and stretching graphics takes a lot of time for the computer to do.

rich12545
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:14 pm

Post by rich12545 » Thu Dec 16, 2004 3:40 pm

Sean, Firefight is a full window already and doesn't need to be stretched. When I talk about a zoom I'm talking about something that would be a bit much to do. Wishful thinking. But in the next version a "meeting engagement" type of battle would be nice. Put forces on opposite sides of the field, an area about half the size of what is used now, and a flag in the middle.

However, I wouldn't mind seeing Slay and Conquest having the ability to stretch more, maybe adding 20-30% to the playing field size. That way it'll be bigger but still pretty sharp.

And talking about changes. I can't play moab. I couldn't understand why I was sick all the time until my wife looked at the screen the way it moves to the next unit. It literally makes me so car sick I can't play it. First person shooters do the same to me. So if there's a way to eliminate that quick movement it would be nice.

User avatar
MortVader
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by MortVader » Sun Jan 02, 2005 12:45 pm

rich12545 check if your monitors refreshrate is 60 (which is standard for windows)

The more you can up it (say to 75,80 or even 100) the easier your eyes will accept it.

I have the same problem as you with 1st person shooters. Unless I can make it 100hz, which removes the car-sickness completely.

rich12545
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 3:14 pm

Post by rich12545 » Sun Jan 02, 2005 1:50 pm

Thanks for the info but it won't work for me. I just bought Empire enhanced and have the same problem because the units move so fast. First I have a laptop and can't change the refresh rate. But mainly because I have a medical problem with my right eye.

Quitch
Posts: 297
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2004 8:56 am

Post by Quitch » Tue Jan 04, 2005 9:14 am

Laptop screens tend to support two refresh rates, but a refresh rate on an LCD isn't that important since only parts of the screen which are changing get refreshed, where as on a CRT the entire screen is refreshed all the time.

Post Reply