Maps, map editor questions

A boardgame of world domination
Post Reply
nwflyboy
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 10:57 pm

Maps, map editor questions

Post by nwflyboy » Sat Dec 09, 2006 11:12 pm

I recently purchased Conquest and have been enjoying it. I've started experimenting creating my own maps using John Fowler's map editor, and have had no trouble with smaller maps. Now I've started work on a much larger map, and I'm getting errors and running into some apparent limitations in the map editor program.

It appears that John Fowler's website is no longer there, and I see old posts on the forum indicating his email was no longer valid.

Does anyone know if he has abandoned his map editor project? Does anyone have a valid email address for him? If he has abandoned the project, are there any alternatives? Anyone got the source code who could carry it on? It seems like an important component...

As to the specific problems I'm having, I've created a large BMP. I can open the .BMP file in the map editor, at least initially, but as soon as I switch from the default ("File") tab to any other tab, I get the following error:

Code: Select all

Run-time error '480':
Can't create AutoRedraw image

Then the program closes.

Any idea what's causing this error?
Any suggestions on how to get around it?

What are the maximum dimensions for a map that will work in the game?

The BMP file is large - 3600 pixels x 2400 pixels. Yes, that's large (I like large maps).

I've tried reducing the size of the map and have been able to avoid the error and crash, but I'm still having a big problem with the map editor: if the size of the map is larger than my monitor, there seems to be no way to scroll the map (in the map editor) or otherwise access the territories that are "off the screen"....is there no way to get around this?

Oh, I'm using Conquest Map Editor v1.0.2 - is there anything newer?

Thanks for any suggestions...I've got some cool (I think) game maps I'd be happy to share...but can't get around these glitches.

Any help? Thanks.

User avatar
Sean OConnor
Posts: 1299
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 7:47 am
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Post by Sean OConnor » Tue Dec 12, 2006 10:48 am

Sorry I can't help with this but I wasn't involved with writing John's map editor program. If he has disappeared I may have a go in the future writing my own map editor.

User avatar
sid6.7
Posts: 364
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 5:07 am
Location: WEST USA
Contact:

Post by sid6.7 » Thu Dec 21, 2006 5:32 pm

here is another one that is being kept up (so far)


http://andreausai.siteburg.com/conquest/index.html
if you run..you'll only die tired

mahks
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 6:37 am

Editor info

Post by mahks » Wed Mar 28, 2007 6:46 am

Just started creating some more maps, seem to have lost John's editor.

Can't seem to find an editor for Conquest anywhere, so I've started writing one.

Would it be possible to get the parameters for the .map file?

Most are obvious, but I'm wondering about things like;
- Limits to continent count
- size constraints
- any "hidden" variables?

Thanks, Mahks

User avatar
Sean OConnor
Posts: 1299
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 7:47 am
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact:

Post by Sean OConnor » Wed Mar 28, 2007 7:02 am

These are the limits:

The maximum number of territories that any territory can connect to is 10. The maximum number of territories that a map can have is 255.
The maximum number of continents that a map can have is 32.

There shouldn't be any limit to the map size or each territory's size.

I think the world.map file has all the parameters that there are and there aren't any hidden ones.

Good luck!

User avatar
sid6.7
Posts: 364
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 5:07 am
Location: WEST USA
Contact:

Re: Editor info

Post by sid6.7 » Wed Mar 28, 2007 10:03 pm

mahks wrote:Just started creating some more maps, seem to have lost John's editor.

Can't seem to find an editor for Conquest anywhere, so I've started writing one.

Would it be possible to get the parameters for the .map file?

Most are obvious, but I'm wondering about things like;
- Limits to continent count
- size constraints
- any "hidden" variables?

Thanks, Mahks


that would be cool...you know you can get the CME file here right?


the only thing i can think of is somehow John fowler is involved
in the iraq war thats why he seemed to drop off the map so quickly
he doesnt even return letters sent by snail mail..

baring that (God forbid) something even worse has happened. He
was very nice and took input well for the CME program.

he and i chatted for some time about CME...

it still works for me as i started making more maps the
other day the only bug i have so far is the contineient colors
cant be changed...and sometimes the connections get weird
when switching start points but thats doesnt happen all that
much...
if you run..you'll only die tired

Post Reply